Love comes in many shapes and forms, and has innumerable different faces. Spurred on by tomorrow’s Valentine’s Day celebrations, we asked our readers a couple of weeks ago to send us a photograph that, to them, illustrates the word ‘love’. Here are our favourites, accompanied in some cases with photographers’ explanations.

[nggallery id=127]

The photographers, in order of appearance, were

Sarah Eechaut saraheechaut.com

Pauline Miko paulinemiko.com

Julie Calbert juliecalbert.be

Raya Rayax happybeingmedevilman.tumblr.com

Joke De Wilde dewildejoke.blogspot.com

Hendrik Wittock

Merel ‘t Hart merelthart.com

Stien Bekaert stienbekaert.be

Melika Ngombe melikangombe.tumblr.com

Veerle Frissen veerlefrissen.com

Joanna Mrozek

Memymom memymom.com

PS: A massive thank you to all the photographers that submitted some of their work.