DJ and manager of indie label Her Majesty’s Ship Charlotte Decroix kindly took time out from her busy deejaying and vinyl-fetishising schedule to show us around Pigalle for a feature in our new format print magazine (only three weeks to go!) We had a good stomp around her ‘hood and saw the highs and lows of one of the most raunchy, rowdy, clubby and, shall we say, spirited spots of the city. While you’re waiting for that, get a load of this exclusive mix Charlotte’s made, just for us…

So. What’s your story?

I’m a DJ selector from Parisian duo Alex&Annie, with my friend Clotilde Floret (singer of We Are Enfant Terrible). We started playing together a few years ago, back when I began in the music business as a party promoter, and Clotilde was recording her first demos. We both love pop music and electronic music, but maybe I’m a bit more techno and she’s a bit more punk rock…

What have you been up to lately? 

Last year we released our first Alex&Annie compilation, ‘Florilège #1’, and made a beautiful record with ten exclusive songs representing our tastes in music. I’ve also been running a young indie label for a year now, called Her Majesty’s Ship, which I started with the artist David Shaw, so I’m a music producer too. I manage musicians so they can achieve their projects. Music is my full time job since I started the label.

Tell us about the mix…

This is more a selection of songs I like to listen at home than a mix for a club. It’s always hard to pick only ten tracks which fit together and represent me. I’m pretty happy with this one because there are new gems (I often listen to the same records for months) which I discovered last year, like Dombrance, Friends and El Perro Del Mar, and some of my own classics, like Glass Candy or YACHT. This set is perfect for warming up the early evening, or making you smile on a Monday at the office. Fresh and groovy !

What about the exclusive track? 

The exclusive track is ‘Trance In Mexico’ by David Shaw and The Beat and remixed by Marc Piñol, Spain’s rising techno star. It will be released on Her Majesty’s Ship next month.

When and where did you record it?

I did the mix at home over the weekend. For the selection, I was in my living room, on the sofa with my laptop, my cat and a cup of tea. I love this place! I’m lucky because I have a lovely flat in Paris, with parquet floors and moldings on the wall, it’s very cosy. Then I made the mix in David’s studio, I needed his help to record my voice : I’ve never done that before, it was something new for me.

 What’s the story with the artwork?

The artwork is a photo of two friends in front of a wall on which an old movie was projected. I took it a few years ago when I was playing in a small club I loved, Le Pin Up. It doesn’t exist anymore, there were many great parties there, I really miss that time.

What’s your favorite track on the mix?

‘You Loft My Acid’ by Death In Vegas. It’s so sexy and hypnotic… it could last for hours like that, it would still be fabulous.

What are your top 3 albums of the year so far? 

–       Matthew Dear « Beams » (Ghostly)

–       David Shaw and The Beat « So It Goes » (Her Majesty’s Ship)

–       Electric Guest « Mondo » (Because)

memories of a pin up


01 Friends « I’m His Girl »

02 El Perro Del Mar « Walk On By (Saint Etienne Mix) »

03 Glass Candy « Beautiful Object »

04 Dombrance « The Witch (feat. Sourya) »

05 Death In Vegas « You Loft My Acid (Fearless’Trance House Mix) »

06 The Rapture « In The Grace Of Your Love (Pional Remix) »

07 YACHT « Psychic City (Classixx Remix) »

08 Kindness « Gee Up (Erol Alkan Extended Rework) »

09 Layo & Bushwaka feat. Kim Ann Foxman « Can’t Hurt You »

10 David Shaw and The Beat « Trance In Mexico (Marc Piñol Remix) »